Please welcome the 2024-25 class of Cullman fellows.

April 23, 2024, 10:07am

The New York Public Library’s Dorothy and Lewis B. Cullman Center has announced its annual class of Fellows. Awarded annually, The Cullman fellowship entitles a gifted cadre of writers and academics to a year of funding, a private office, and research resources at the NYPL’s Schwarzman Building. Candidates are selected on the strength of their published work and a project proposal. Those “whose work will benefit directly from access to the collections” are favored.

This year’s Fellows were selected from a pool of 620 applicants from 66 countries(!). They include a range of academics, independent scholars, artists, and authors. Here’s the lucky list of awardees:

Academics: Oleg Budnitskii, Joseph Giovannini, James Goodman, Jochen Hellbeck, Jennifer L. Morgan, and Sara Roy

Fiction writers: Isabella Hammad, Tracey Rose Peyton, and Patricio Pron

Nonfiction writers: Heather Clark, Leslie Jamison, Iman Mersal, Emma Tarlo, and Abigail Santamaria

Graphic novelist: Eric Orner

Many excellent and high profile books have been written at the Cullman Center. (Just to throw a stone: Brandon Taylor, Darryl Pinckney, Jennifer Egan, Sally Rooney, Colson Whitehead, Alejandro Zambra, and Hermione Lee are all previous tenants of the stacks.) But this year’s fleet promises to be extra special. This from Salvatore Scibone, the Sue Ann and John Weinberg Director of the Cullman Center: “The competition for this year’s Fellowships was stiffer than ever…The breadth and originality of the new Fellows’ work blew us away.”

You can read more about the fellowship (and very soon, next year’s class) here. Congratulations to all those chosen!

Source link

About The Author

Scroll to Top